Anson Ma


Dr. Anson Ma joined the University of Connecticut (UConn) in August 2011. He is currently an Associate Professor in both the Polymer Program (Institute of Materials Science) and the Chemical Engineering Program (Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering). His research group, Complex Fluids Laboratory, focuses on understanding the complex flow behavior and processing of various complex fluids (e.g., foams, emulsions, nanoparticle suspensions, and biological fluids).

Dr. Ma obtained his Ph.D. degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Cambridge (UK) in 2009 after completing his B.Eng. (2003) and M.Phil (2005) degrees at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). Before arriving at UConn, Dr. Ma spent two years at Rice University(TX, USA), where he was named the J. Evans Attwell-Welch Fellow – a postdoctoral fellowship bestowed by the Richard E. Smalley Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology and the Welch Foundation to the best young nanoscientists. He was an honorary scholar of the Cambridge Overseas Trust and the recipient of a number of scholarships including the Croucher Foundation Scholarship (Hong Kong) which supported his doctoral studies at Cambridge. Dr. Ma received a Distinguished Young Rheologist Award from TA Instruments in 2012, an NSF CAREER award in 2013, the 2015 Arthur B. Metzner Early Career award by the Society of Rheology, a 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award in 2016, and an Early Career Award (Excellence in Research and Creativity) from the American Association of University Professors (AAUP)-UConn Chapter in 2017.

Dr. Ma has been actively engaged in professional and outreach activities. He serves on the Technical Council of US $171-million America’s Flexible Electronics Manufacturing Innovation (NextFlex) Institute. Ma led an NSF Industry-University Cooperative Research Center (I/UCRC) proposal to establish a national I/UCRC on additive manufacturing with UMass Lowell and Georgia Tech. The grant is awarded and Ma will serve as the initial Site Director. He has also chaired and co-chaired technical sessions for Society of Rheology and American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) annual meetings. He is serving on the Editorial Board of 7 journals and as a peer-reviewer for more than 20 journals.

Email :

Selected Awards & Honors

  • 2020 – Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) Summer Faculty Fellow
  • 2019 – Faculty Excellence Award, Polymer Program, University of Connecticut
  • 2017 – Excellence in Research and Creativity: Early Career Award, American Association of University Professors (AAUP)-UConn Chapter
  • 2016 – Non-Tenured Faculty Award, 3M Corporation
  • 2015 – Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award, Society of Rheology
  • 2013 – NSF CAREER Award
  • 2012 – Distinguished Young Rheologist, TA Instruments
  • 2012 – UConn Junior Faculty Fellowship (summer)
  • 2009 – J. Evans Attwell-Welch Fellowship, Rice University
  • 2007 – Messel Travel Bursary, The Society of Chemical Industry
  • 2006 – Fellow, Cambridge Philosophical Society
  • 2005 – Croucher Foundation Scholarship
  • 2005 – Honorary Scholar, Cambridge Overseas Trust
  • 2005 – Fellow, Cambridge Overseas Society
  • 2005 – Overseas Research Students Awards Scheme (ORSAS) Scholarship

Professional Activities

Previous Positions

  • 2011/17 – Assistant Professor, University of Connecticut (USA)
  • 2009/11 – J. Evans Attwell-Welch fellow, Rice University (USA)
  • 2008/09 – Technical Consultant, Paramata Ltd. (UK), Nanoholdings LLC (USA)
  • 2003 – Summer Intern, CLP Research Institute (Hong Kong)
  • 2001 – Summer Assistant, Air Products Asia Inc. (Hong Kong)
Anson Ma portrait

Anson MA

Associate professor